Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Susanality

COOKING CLASS: The BEST Apple Pie

If I do say so myself
25

Are we all in the mood for a little comfort? I thought so! And is there anything more comforting than a warm slice of apple pie? I think not. I have lost myself in the kitchen these past few days, and it’s been a great stress reliever, as always. 

I’m on a mission to get everyone to make a pie at least once. For some reason, even some good cooks say they are too intimidated to make a pie. Why is this? It really is quite easy, but, like anything worth doing, practice makes it easier, because you know what to expect. It’s also pretty hard to mess up pie in my experience.

There are so many rules and dire warnings about pie, but, actually, it’s quite simple if you remember the most important thing, which is to keep the dough cold as much as possible.

This isn't an issue as much in cooler weather, but if you’re in an un-air-conditioned space in warm weather, you’ll be in and out of the fridge a lot. 

So whether you’ve just come back from the apple orchard, or you want to practice (or prep!) for Thanksgiving (I froze the two pies I made for today’s newsletter, and I’m not ashamed to serve them for the big feast), or are just looking for a fun (and stress-relieving) weekend activity, please make an apple pie!


Tips for success:

Making the dough:

Watch with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Susanality to watch this video and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Susanality
Susanality
Authors
Susan Spungen