56 Comments

Late July, when friends deliver a trunk-load of kale and collards from their garden?

Desperation mode:

Sauteed chopped scallions in grape seed oil with crushed garlic.

Add mountains of finely chopped greens. Cook quickly!!! Cool.

Freeze in pints and quarts. Pop frozen blocks into soups, pasta sauce, rice, and

grains!

Wonderful friends...

Gifts that keep on giving!!

Expand full comment
Jun 30, 2023Liked by Susan Spungen

I am crazy busy, and I need low effort/high reward cooking. When arriving home, even 10 minutes of cook time is anathema. So the fridge is might be stocked with a tuna and white bean salad...or a Vietnamese Cabbage and Chicken Salad with that punchy dressing...

Theres always a frozen something in my freezer...German Chocolate cookies are portioned, ready for baking. A swoony Plum Ice cream with St. Germain is there for those icy cravings.

....and call me crazy or out of season, but I made a Southwestern Corn 🌽 and Tomatillo Bisque fiery with Chipotle (and yes, I like it served hot!)

So as you can see, Im ready to eat whenever the cravings attack..

Expand full comment
Jun 29, 2023Liked by Susan Spungen

I’d love the recipe for giambotta!! It looks good! I’m making a lot of cold radish dishes and lentil and radish salads.

Expand full comment

Hope you are feeling better. Ratatouille, Korean chili cucumbers , tomato and bacon tart/pie.

Expand full comment

Sorry you’re under the weather. Best wishes for a speedy recovery!

This week, I demoed a kick-ass sparkling gazpacho and a cinchy vegan berry crumble. Summertime, and the cookin’s easy.

Expand full comment

Yes to the recipe! It looks so delicious! Lately I’m for making anything into a taco 😄 and therefore anything into a slaw for said taco.

Expand full comment

I hope you are feeling better and can get back to your summer cooking and farmstead visiting soon. I'm making charred sugar snap peas with feta cheese, and waiting for corn and tomatoes in Massachusetts...

Expand full comment
Jun 28, 2023Liked by Susan Spungen

Lancaster County (PA) tomatoes on toasted Tuscan bread with Hellman’s Mayo and sea salt... best summer breakfast

Expand full comment
Jun 28, 2023Liked by Susan Spungen

I'm snacking on fresh peaches and cherries all day every day while I can!!

Expand full comment
Jun 28, 2023Liked by Susan Spungen

Farro salad with local farm spinach, rancho gordo beans, olives, basil, corn, celery, chives, and lots of olive oil and lemon. So fresh and summery!

Expand full comment

Big, make-ahead cold salads! Chicken, bean or rice base with a mix of whatever veggies look good at the market and a fresh, herb-y dressing. Keeps the fridge full for quick & easy no-cook meals.

Expand full comment
Jun 28, 2023Liked by Susan Spungen

Cherry compote, more cooked cherries cooling now for David Leibovitz’s Cherry Sorbet, Jose Andres Gazpacho and some amazing corn soup. Peaches on the counter for later this week.

Expand full comment

I’m putting peaches in everything, grateful for the 30 seconds that they are available and amazing. Also, I’m enjoying some chopped cherry tomatoes with shaved onions, a handful of yellow raisins, a spoonful of Dijon mustard, some lemon zest, a smashed garlic clove (or 3), salt, spices, and olive oil -- let it sit for a few hours. It becomes silky and rich. Then it can be tossed with a salad or with some noodles or on a protein. Fresh and simple.

Expand full comment

Be patient Susan! I just baked some friselle, and tonight we’ll have with fantastic tomatoes, very good olive oil, fresh basil...

Expand full comment
Jun 28, 2023Liked by Susan Spungen

Giambotta, please!

Expand full comment
Jun 28, 2023Liked by Susan Spungen

Susan - Sorry to hear about being about stuck in Covid mode. Patience... I harvested broccoli di ciccio leaves from my garden since they shouldn't be planteed near my tomatoes ;-) I sauteed them with a spring onion and it's ready to use. Also made your pickled shallot vinaigrette which was so easy and is a gift that keeps on giving.

Stopped by our local strawberry farm yesterday and they were picking my favorite - boysenberries! I grew up in SoCal and loved boysenberries from childhood. Instead of making the veggie galette from Veg Forward I made your Strubarb galette dough and will make a boysenberry galette!

Expand full comment

Also in the throes of Covid so I feel your pain. Best wishes for a full and final recovery. I’ve gotten some great heirloom tomatoes and they have been all I’ve wanted to eat.

Expand full comment
Jun 28, 2023Liked by Susan Spungen

Savory vegetable galette annnnnd favas, favas, favas! They seem to enhance every dish I put them in. It’s currently the main ingredient to my eclectic chop salad ~ sustaining me ‘til the tomatoes arrive. Swift recovery to you.

Expand full comment
Jun 28, 2023Liked by Susan Spungen

It's so hard to cook anything in this weather. I tend to assemble more than turning on my oven. I did just buy an air fryer for smaller batch cooking. Being on low carb high protein diet is tricky. Lately I've been making herby tuna salads and charcuterie type meals.

Expand full comment
Jun 28, 2023Liked by Susan Spungen

Just loving the fresh, beautiful fruit so I made a big mixed green salad with fruits, veggies burrata and pepitas. I also made a spicy watermelon, feta and mint salad😋

Expand full comment

Feel better!!! We’re making all things Swiss chard. Spinach pie, savory galettes (before the bugs get all the garden greens) and pre- camp chocolate chip pancakes.

Expand full comment

Not really cooking cooking, but chopped vegetable salads with any and all combinations of vegetables and herbs, with and without feta cheese. Sometimes chickpeas.

Expand full comment
Jun 28, 2023Liked by Susan Spungen

Last night we made Hetty McKinnon’s new recipe for pan fried gnocchi with fennel and fennel frond pesto! Finally a use for fennel fronds!

Expand full comment
Jun 28, 2023Liked by Susan Spungen

Recipe for that awesome looking dish, please!

Expand full comment
Jun 28, 2023Liked by Susan Spungen

I have all the ingredients to make your focaccia today, I have been wanting to make a focaccia for a long time and now I finally have a recipe I trust. I did it want to waste 5 cups of flour on a stinker recipe.

Expand full comment